Alumni Awards

The Saint Leo Alumni Association, along with the Office of Alumni Engagement and Sustained Giving, is dedicated to recognizing those who serve as role models for Saint Leo students, encourage others to consider a Saint Leo education, and further inspire a sense of Saint Leo pride in their fellow graduates.

2020 Award Recipients

Find out who the recipients are by viewing this video! 

Learn more about the 2020 Alumni Award recipients »


Distinguished Alumnus/a Award

The highest award granted by the Saint Leo University Alumni Association, the Distinguished Alumnus/a Award recognizes alumni who have achieved remarkable goals in his or her personal or professional life. Examples of such are: noteworthy success in building a business, appointment to a high level position within a government or private industry, and earning esteem and praise within his or her local community for a consistent pattern of selfless work or high-level achievement.

Alternately, a person who achieved a singular goal of great positive significance. Examples are: earning a position on an Olympic team, discovering or inventing something of note, performing a verifiable heroic deed, and etc.

Benedictine Spirit Award

Originally established in 2006 as the Florida Benedictine Spirit Award, this award continues the tradition of celebrating and honoring an alumnus/a who is living the values first articulated 1,500 years ago by Sts. Benedict and Scholastica. The recipient will have demonstrated uncommon and sustained devotion to the Saint Leo University community.

Alumni awards are presented each year during Homecoming Weekend in November.

Roaring Onward Award

Established in 2016, the Roaring Onward Award celebrates outstanding alumni who have graduated within the past 10 years. Selection is based on professional success, contribution to their communities, and living the university’s core values. Recipients possess the qualities that embody the spirit of Saint Leo and a commitment to further strengthen the alumni community.

Past Award Recipients

2019 »

2018 »

2017 »

2016 »


Nominations for the 2020 Alumni Awards are now closed. Nominations received after August 24, 2020 will be considered for next year.

Make a nomination